€2 San Marino 2011 - 500th anniversary of the birth of Giorgio Vasari Maximize

€2 San Marino 2011 - 500th anniversary of the birth of Giorgio Vasari

The 2 euros commemorative coin San Marino 2011 commemorates the 500th anniversary of the birth of Giorgio Vasari. (UNCirculated)

More details

  Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato


49,00 €

The inner part of the coin commemorating the 500th anniversary of the birth of Giorgio Vasari (30 July 1511 – 27 June 1574), a painter, writer, and architect famous for his biographies of Italian artists and now considered the ideological founder of art-historical writing, shows a detail of his painting “Giuditta decapitates Oloferne”. Centred at the bottom are the dates “1511-2011”, with the name “G. VASARI” and the designation of the issuing country “SAN MARINO” to the left and right respectively along the inner edge. The mintmark “R” is located to the left of the central motif and the letters “CM”, the initials of the designer Claudia Momoni, immediately to the right. The 12 stars of the European Union are depicted on the coin’s outer ring.
(source : European Central Bank)
  • Weight (g) 8.50
  • Issuing country San Marino
  • Issuing year 2011
  • Type €2 commemorative coin
  • Face Value €2
  • Composition Bi-metal (nickel silver / copper-nickel)
  • Quality Uncirculated
  • Diameter (mm) 25.75
  • Issuing volume 130000

State Mint and Polygraphic Institute

The Italian Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato (trans. State Mint and Polygraphic Institute), founded in 1928, is situated at the Piazza Giuseppe Verdi in Rome. As well as producing coins, passports and postage stamps for Italy, it serves the micro-states of the Vatican City and San Marino as well as the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, widely considered a sovereign subject of international law.

Banknotes are instead produced by Bank of Italy.

In 2002, IPZS became a public limited company (società per azioni or SpA) with the Italian Ministry of Economy and Finance (Ministero dell'Economia e delle Finanze) as sole shareholder.